Go to main navigation
4801 Woodway Drive, Suite 165-E, Houston, Texas 77056
713-229-9292 713-229-9292


Tenacious Houston Lawyers Defend Motorists Accused of DWI

Accomplished law firm helps clients challenge drunk driving charges

If you’re arrested for driving while intoxicated, your life can change in a second. Unfortunately, these charges are often based on subjective impressions and potential violations of drivers’ legal rights. At the Law Offices of Scardino & Fazel in Houston, our attorneys have detailed knowledge of the laws relating to drunk driving. In Texas, a blood alcohol content (BAC) reading of .08 percent or above constitutes legal intoxication for most drivers, but even if your BAC reads at that level, our attorneys have the experience to identify flaws that might have occurred in the law enforcement and testing process.

Knowledgeable counselors answer your questions on Texas DWI law

Our experienced criminal defense attorneys can answer any of your questions relating to a drunk driving arrest, including:

  • Should I take a blood or breathalyzer test? Based upon many years of experience, consultations with recognized experts in the field, personal experiences at trial, and our own clients’ stories, we have found that these tests are not reliable in determining an accurate blood alcohol level. Field sobriety tests, such as walking on a line, are even more subjective and prone to error. Though you must provide license information and comply with lawful orders, you do not have to take these tests.
  • Will my driver license be suspended? It depends. The Texas Department of Public Safety must be able to demonstrate that there was reasonable suspicion to stop you and there was probable cause to arrest you for DWI and request a breath sample. You are subject to a 180-day license suspension if you refuse a test or 90 days’ suspension if your blood alcohol content is greater than .08. In some cases, an occupational license might be granted so that you can get to and from work or school.
  • Are the rules tougher for young drivers? In Texas, if a driver under the age of 21 has any alcohol in their system, they can be charged with DWI.

If you’re facing a DWI charge, it’s important to seek help quickly. We provide a free initial consultation so that you can get the prompt advice you need to protect your legal rights.

Skilled assistance to protect the rights of first-time offenders

Many people make the potentially harmful mistake of failing to get experienced legal help when they are being charged with DWI for the first time. While first offenders are typically offered a relatively light punishment involving probation, the subjective nature of DWI enforcement puts them in serious jeopardy of a second arrest and much harsher consequences. If during a traffic stop, an officer believes they detect alcohol and checks the driver’s record, the prior DWI increases that driver’s chance of being arrested and charged again.

Contact a tough Houston DWI defense lawyer for a free initial consultation

The Law Offices of Scardino & Scardino represents Houston-area clients who have been charged with driving while intoxicated. Please call 713-229-9292 or contact us online to schedule a free initial consultation at our office.